I’ve been saving plastic bags, wrappers and other forms of film for years.  My family has always wondered what I’m ever going to do with this collection.  I think they fear I may be borderline hoarder, which perhaps, I am…. but then I make things out of of the hoard.

This is the kind of stuff I do when I’m not in my garden or searching for wild goods.  It’s been rainy lately so …out comes my inner thimble.

fabric scraps plastic film scrapsSo basically, I made a rough template for the purse.  It’s just a rectangle with a rounded corner.  I fused the plastic together with an iron and newsprint and cloth over top. Parchment paper is the best thing but I was all out so these were a good alternative. I pieced plastic and cloth together with my sewing machine and then attached sturdy plastic film to that.  I used two milk bags…the clear ones that hold the actual milk.  I never throw those things out.  They are great for storing food, freezing hamburger and chicken breasts, sandwiches, travelling (washcloths, toothbrushes etc.) Anyway, I finished the edges and folded the bag together and voila! A funky little bag for lunches, makeup, photos, whatever you want.  I gave it to my 14 year old daughter Maggie who is a budding artist and can appreciate it.  It’s kind of rough and needs a clasp or big button but I can do that later.  I didn’t use up all the plastic so be ready for another project in the future.

plastic fusion handbag back of hand bag

